Headlines Sports


Stage is set for Gauteng Sport Awards 2017 as finalists are proclaimed


Nie  Cele



The 6th edition Gauteng Sports Awards finals are just around the corner. Organisers say,this year’s celebration of the Province’s sporting stars is dedicated to the self-less legacy of struggle icon Oliver Reginald Tambo, who would have turned 100 in October.

Furthermore they say, It is the year of ‘Unity in Action’ as they honour a man who fought hard for liberation and reflect on how far this country have come in sport 23 years later.


A rambling statement issued to the media states,”Through sport we need to ensure that our liberation, unity and freedom are protected, preserved and promoted for all South Africans to enjoy what the likes of Oliver Reginald Tambo believed and stood for.” nominees


Back to the story. Finalists for the upcoming 2017 awards were recently announced at a glittering event held at Green Hills stadium in Randfontein in the Rand-West municipality.


As usual It was a well attended affair by the whose who of sports, Rand West municipality councillors, Mayors and MMC’s and was described as another way of ‘profiling the city and harnessing a new beginning’.


Gauteng MEC for Sports, Arts, Culture and Recreation, Faith Mazibuko told the packed audience that his department supports sports people and wants to make sure that business of sports earns them a living.

She also pointed out that, this little dorpie has produced dozens of sports legends in the past and even now, hence this event was held in that Municipality area.

“Gauteng does not end in Jozi andTswane.


“Communities must vote for their preferred candidates. Parents must accompany their children to sporting events where they participate.”


Mazibuko congratulated the nominees and said, “These are sportsmen and women who have flown Gauteng’s flag in the field of play. We are proud of them at a time we honour our national icon OR Tambo. We wish them the best as we head towards the award ceremony in October.


‘I also urge fans, followers and supporters to vote for their favourites to lift trophies next month and there are some amazing prizes to be won.  Winners will go on to represent the province, our home of champions, at the national awards, so they need to have our full support,” Mazibuko said.



Mogale city Member of the Mayoral Committee for Sports, ChairmaneNzwane told this reporter that it’s a good thing to stage these awards in that municipality area.


“This will help our municipality to get more exposure. The up and coming youth will be encouraged and take sports very serious,” She said.



The main event will be held on Sunday 1 October 2017 at SilverStar Casino in Mogale City.


To win a car at the Gauteng Sport Awards 2017 vote for your favourite Sport Fan by SMSing their sporting code to 41802.


Terms and conditions apply. All SMSes are charged at R1.50 and free SMSes do not apply.


See below the list of nominees and categories.



Sport Fan of the Year

1 Mdevas Mokubela

2  Johan Snyders

3 Mamello Makha


Sport Personality of the Year

4 Hlompho Kekana

5  Janine Van Wyk

6 Luvo Manyonga

7  Sheldon Thomas


Sport Programme of the Year

8 Sports Buzz

9 Dlala Mzanzi

10  Sport at 10

11  The Home Straight







Sportman of the Year

Kim Lucas – Wits University – Tang Soo Do

Lawrence Brittian – TUKS Rowing – Rowing

HlomphoKekana – MamelodiSundowns – Football


Sportwoman of the Year

NeilaTembe –Gauteng Volleyball Union – Volleyball

TanitaRamburuth Hurt – Wits Sport – Combat Tang Soo Do

Janine Van Wyk – South African Football Association – Football


Sport Team of the Year

Wits Sport – Wits Tang Soo Do – Martial Arts

MamelodiSundowns – MamelodiSundowns Football Club – Football

Golden Lions Rugby Union – Emirates Lions Super Rugby Team – Rugby


Disabled Sportwoman of the Year

Sandra Khumalo – Para Rowing Single Scull – Rowing

Maria Combrink – CGSAPD – Athletics

KgothatsoMontjane – Wheelchair Tennis South Africa –Tennis


Disabled Sportman of the Year

NtandoMahlangu – Disability Sport – Athletics

Evans Maripa – Wheelchair Tennis South Africa – Tennis

Pieter duPreez – UJ Sport for Disability – Athletics

Lucas Sithole – Wheelchair Tennis South Africa – Tennis


Sport Team of the Year with a Disability

Gauteng Wheelchair Basketball – Gauteng Wheelchair Basketball Boys U23 – Wheelchair Basketball

Disability Sport Athletics Team – Disability Sport Athletics Team – Athletics

KwaThema Disability Academy – KwaThema Disability Sports Club – Multi Coded


Coach of the Year

Kelsey White – Central Gauteng Water Polo – Water Polo

PitsoMosimane – MamelodiSundowns – Football

Johannes NthooroMongalo – Golden Lions Rugby Union – Rugby


Technical Official of the Year

Charles Villet – Brakpan Wrestling Club – Wrestling

MphoMakgoba – Tennis South Africa –Tennis

Charmaine Ho -Provincial Archery Federation – Archery


Administrator of the Year

NkosinathiMoyo – Gauteng Volleyball Union – Volleyball

Gussie Bartlett – Eastern Gauteng Wrestling Association – Wrestling

John Mathane – ASA – Athletics


Most Promising Athletes

MadimetjaMalebana – Wits Sport – Combat Tang Soo Do

Nthabeleng Maine – Wits Hockey – Hockey U/21 World Cup Women’s Hockey

Sheldon Thomas – UJ Sport for Disability – Athletics

SiyabongaSamkelo Wiseman Mbatha – Gauteng Volleyball Union – Volleyball


Most Promising Team

Gauteng Wheelchair Basketball Girls – Gauteng Under 19 Girls Team – Wheelchair Basketball

Gauteng Wheelchair Basketball Boys Gauteng Wheelchair Basketball Boys U/19 – Wheelchair Basketball

Hlangebeza U/13 Primary Chess Team – Hlangebeza U/13 Primary Chess Team – Chess


Sport Fan of the Year

MdevasMokubela – Football

Johan Snyders – Disability Sport (Athletics)

MamelloMakha – Football


Journalist of the Year

MbaliMokoko – Kaya FM

TshepisoMametela – Caxton Newspapers

ZipporahTsholofeloLesunye – Alex FM


Sport Personality of the Year

HlomphoKekana – MamelodiSundowns – Football

Janine Van Wyk – South African Football Association – Football

LuvoManyonga – UP Sport – Athletics

Sheldon Thomas – UJ Sport for Disability – Athletics


School Sport Athlete of the Year

Fernando Booysen – HoerskoolHugenoot – Wrestling

Emile Burger – Jumping Kids Prosthetic Fund – Athletics

Mary Dzimba – Gauteng School Sport for the Intellectually Impaired – Athletics


Community Sport and Recreation Programme of the Year

SAFA Tshwane Regional League and Ga-Rankuwa Local Football Association – Faith and Hope Foundation – Football, Netball and Tennis

Gauteng Volleyball Union – Johannesburg Strikers Volleyball Academy – Volleyball

Southern Gauteng Hockey Association – In-Touch Community Support Group – Hockey and Football


Sport Programme of the Year

Nwendamutswu – SABC1 SportBuzz

Soweto TV – DlalaMzanzi

Sport at 10 – SABC

The Home Straight – Kaya FM


Community Media of the Year

Thetha FM – Thetha FM 100.7

Jozi FM – Jozi FM

Alex News – Caxton









Related posts


Nie Cele

Joburg approves adjusted budget set to boost local economy

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment