Abc motsepe

  • Maccabi miss out on top spot, Tigers boost survival hopes

    Maccabi miss out on top spot, Tigers boost survival hopes

  • JDR move level with Maccabi, Swallows' woes compounded

    JDR move level with Maccabi, Swallows’ woes compounded

  • Super Eagles leapfrog Bubchu in the Free State

    Super Eagles leapfrog Bubchu in the Free State

Super Eagles pull clear of Harmony

(Image credit: Super Eagles FC)

Super Eagles managed to pull clear at the top of the Free State ABC Motsepe League table, while the relegation contenders all dropped points in week 21.

Eagles headed into the weekend’s Free State action leading Harmnony FC by one point, but the leaders extended their gap to four points after defeating Bubchu United 3-2 on Saturday afternoon.

Second place, Harmony suffered a setback in their pursuit of the title, going down 2-1 to Dikwena United at the Phuthaditjhaba Stadium.

Mangaung Unite kept their slim title hopes alive with a 2-1 win over African Warriors to move six points behind Eagles in fourth, while Bubchu are five adrift of the leaders.

Eagles continue to lead the way with nine matches to go in the campaign and they will be looking to sustain their lead when they host Dikwena United in week 22.

The relegation battle, meanwhile, is far from finished with all three contenders failing to pick up three points over the weekend.

Dinonyana had the opportunity to put some daylight between themselves and the drop zone, but it was not to be as they suffered a 3-1 defeat to Bloemfontein Celtic.

Lijabatho and Dla 2 missed a chance to take advantage of Dinonyana’s slip up, after the two clubs shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw at the Letshabo Stadium.

Dinonyana and Dla 2 sit in 14th and 15th position respectively level on 14 points, while Lijabatho remain at the foot of the table with 10 points.

Full week 21 results:

African Warriors FC 1-2 Mangaung Unite

Bloemfontein Young Tigers 0-2 Central University

Dikwena United FC 2-1 Harmony FC

Bubchu United 2-3 Super Eagles FC

Bloemfontein Celtic FC 3-1 Dinonyana FC

Lijabatho FC 0-0 Dla 2 FC

FC Hunters 3-0 Sibanye Golden Stars FC

Tshiame All Stars FC 1-0 Free State Stars FC


SAFA ABC Motsepe League

The SAFA ABC Motsepe League is contested by 16 clubs in each of the 9 geo-political provinces of South Africa. The winner of each provincial league qualifies for the annual SAFA ABC Motsepe League National Play-offs where the winners of two streams (made up of 4 and 5 clubs respectively) qualify automatically for the National First Division (NFD). Winners from the SAFA SAB Regional League qualify for promotion to the SAFA ABC Motsepe League after a series of play-offs.

Related posts


Nie Cele

Bafana draw

Nie Cele

Ndoro Ajax

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment