ABC Motsepe clubs fined for misconduct

  • Acornbush United through to last 32 of the 2016/17 Nedbank Cup

    Acornbush United through to last 32 of the 2016/17 Nedbank Cup

  • Nedbank Cup Provincial playoffs

    Nedbank Cup Provincial playoffs conclude this week

Zizwe United allow Steenberg back in title huntEmail

Credit: The Magic FC

Western Cape ABC Motsepe League leaders, Zizwe United saw their 17-match unbeaten run come to an end, after they suffered a 1-0 defeat to The Magic FC at the Old Mutual Sports Grounds.

Steenberg United took advantage of the leaders’ slip up with a 1-0 victory over Ikapa Sporting and subsequently cut Zizwe’s lead from six to three points.

The weekend’s results bodes well for week 19, as Zizwe will play hosts to Steenberg on Friday evening.

However, Zizwe have proven to be a tough nut to crack on home soil this season, as they are yet to suffer defeat on their own turf.

Switching to the lower regions of the table, Devonshire Rovers remain rooted to the foot of the table as their search for a first win this season continues.

Cultural Roots were held to a 1-1 draw by Glendene United and remain in 15th spot, two points adrift of Crystal Palace in 14th spot.

Jomo Powers and United FC both sit on 17 points in 12th and 13th respectively, while Atletico Nacional and Milano United sit four points above the drop zone in 10th and 11th.

SAFA ABC Motsepe League

The SAFA ABC Motsepe League is contested by 16 clubs in each of the 9 geo-political provinces of South Africa. The winner of each provincial league qualifies for the annual SAFA ABC Motsepe League National Play-offs where the winners of two streams (made up of 4 and 5 clubs respectively) qualify automatically for the National First Division (NFD). Winners from the SAFA SAB Regional League qualify for promotion to the SAFA ABC Motsepe League after a series of play-offs.

This article was sourced from the SAFA website.

Related posts


Nie Cele

Banyana Banyana to play Sweden

Nie Cele

Zuma 3

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment