Amajita 4

Senong rings major changes for Guinea clash

Amajita head Coach Thabo Senong has made major changes to the starting line up that will take on Guinea in the 3rd / 4th place play off this afternoon (Sunday, 12 March 2017) of the 2017 CAF u20 Africa Cup of Nations tournament, which comes to an end today.

The clash takes place at Heroes National Stadium in Lusaka, Zambia.

Kickoff is at 14h00.

Senong says all the players must get game time as the team is now preparing for the 2017 FIFA U20 World Cup, which will take place in South Korea in May.

Goalkeeper Sanele Tshabalala will make his debut in goals.

The rearguard sees captain Tercious Malepe partner up with another debutant Siyabonga Ngezana at centre back, while Katlego Mohamme returns to the left back position. Aghmat Ceres will get his first run at right back.

Grant Margeman and Wiseman Meyiwa will continue controlling the tempo of the game in the heart of midfield.

Liam Jordan, Sipho Mbule and Kobamelo Kodisang will be the attacking trio, while Itumeleng Shopane is the lone striker upfront.

“It is imperative that all the players get a run in this tournament, hence the changes. We will keep the same style of play that has made us get this far. Guinea is a great opposition for us as we start preparing for the World Cup and we believe that we can take the bronze medal home,” said Senong.

“We want to see all the other players, those who haven’t played, how they behave in a match situation. After this tournament we have to sit down with the technical team and start working on the final squad, so giving these players a chance will also help us to make the right decisions,” said Senong.

The likes of Luther Singh, Thendo Mukumela, Sibongakonke Mbatha and Sandile Mthethwa, who have been ever-present since the start of the tournament, have been rested.

This will be the first ever meeting between South Africa and Guinea.

It will broadcast live on SuperSport 9.

The final of the CAF U20 AFCON between hosts Zambia and Senegal will kickoff at 17h30 at the same venue.

This article was sourced from SAFA website.

South African starting XI:
Sanele Tshabalala (GK); Katlego Mohamme; Aghmat Ceres; Tercious Malepe (C); Siyabonga Ngezana; Grant Margeman; Wiseman Meyiwa; Liam Jordan; Sipho Mbule; Kobamelo Kodisang; Itumeleng Shopane

Mondli Mpoto; Khulekani Khubeka; Sandile Mthethwa ; Notha Ngcobo; Thendo Mukumela ; Luther Singh; Sibongakonke Mbatha ; Khanyisa Mayo

Related posts


Nie Cele

Chiefs vs Sundowns

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment