Polokwane edge AmaZulu

Polokwane City beat AmaZulu FC 3-2 in an Absa Premiership match at the King Zwelithini Stadium in Wednesday night.

The victory takes Rise and Shine to 11th spot on the league standings, while Usuthu slip down to 10th spot on the table.

Rise and Shine got off to a good start as they broke the deadlock 11 minutes into the match after being awarded a free-kick in Usuthu’s half.

Ndivhuwo Ravhuhali stepped up and fired past AmaZulu goalkeeper Siyabonga Mbatha with a thunderous effort to make it 1-0 to Polokwane.

With the half-hour mark fast approaching Usuthu pressed Rise and Shine as the hosts searched for the equalising goal.

Polokwane goalkeeper George Chigova was called into action just after the half-hour mark and he denied AmaZulu attacker Mhlengi Cele.

Boysen Mbatha, the AmaZulu midfielder, then tried his luck from range in the 39th minute, but his effort missed the target.

The visitors were able to contain the hosts in remaining minutes and the score was 1-0 to Polokwane during the halftime break.

An entertaining second-half followed as Rhulani Manzini levelled matters for AmaZulu with a well taken free-kick eight minutes after the restart.

It was end-to-end stuff as Walter Musona restored Polokwane’s lead making it 2-1 to the visitors after punishing keeper Mbatha, who had made a mistake in the 55th minute.

Rodney Ramagalela, Polokwane’s talisman, was working tirelessly for his side and he set up Musona in the 65th minute, but the latter failed to score.

Siyabonga Nomvethe and Siyethemba Mbatha were introduced by AmaZulu coach Cavin Johnson as the hosts searched for the equalising goal.

However, Ramagalela made it 3-1 to AmaZulu when he beat Mbatha with a good shot from a tight angle in the 85th minute.

Cele managed to pull one back for AmaZulu five minutes later, but Polokwane stood firm at the back and ultimately, they won 3-2 on the night.

AmaZulu (0) 2 (Manzini 53′, Cele 90′)

Polokwane (1) 3 (Ravhuhali 11′, Musona 55′, Ramagalela 85′)


AmaZulu: S.Mbatha, M.Gumede, Mtsweni, Mngqibisa, Ouro-Akoriko (C), Darpoh (Mnguni 84′), Ncube, B.Mbatha (Nomvethe 60′), Ncobeni, Cele, Manzini (Ntsundwana 84′).

Polokwane: Chigova, Senenya, Ravhuhali, Mbonani, Maponyane, Seabi, Phiri, Musona (Hlongwane 72′, Ramagalela, Maluleke, Ndou (Booi 82′).

Sourced from PSL Website.

Related posts

Assistant referee dies

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Telkom knockout

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment