Bantwana conclude preparations in SA before heading to Mauritius

Bantwana conclude preparations in SA before heading to Mauritius

Sep 18, 2019 | National WomenNewsU17 Womens

Bantwana conclude preparations in SA before heading to Mauritius

18 September 2019 The South African U-17 Women’s National Team (Bantwana) will have concuct their final training session on home soil this afternoon (Wednesday, 18 September 2019) before they depart for Mauritius on Thursday, 19 September where they will take part in the inaugural COSAFA U-17 Women’s Championship.

The tournament is scheduled to be played from 20 to 29 September in the capital Port St Louis.

South Africa is in Group B alongside Seychelles, Botswana and Madagascar.

Bantwana have been in camp for about two weeks where head coach Simphiwe Dludlu had invited 34 players for assessment –she has now trimmed the squad down to the required 20 players.

They had two practice matches –winning both 3-1 and 6-0 against JVW FC U-17 and a Soweto Select squad respectively.

Meanwhile, in a last minute change, midfielder Thando Sibanda of Mito Stars has been withdrawn from the travelling party as she is nursing a right ankle sprain that is believed will not heal on time for her to play in the tournament.

Her place has been taken by Jade Leask of JVW FC –she was part of the team played against Bantwana in a practice match last week.

In their opening match of the competition, South Africa will face Seychelles on Saturday, 21 September, followed two days later (Monday, 23 September) by a clash against Botswana and will round off the group stages with a fixture against Madagascar on Wednesday, 25 September.

All matches will take place at St Franscois Xavier Stadium.

Midfielder Jessica Wade is expected wear the captain’s armband at the tournament.


Karabo MOHALEHigh Performance Centre (Gauteng)
Luyanda SIBIYA    Sunflower FC   (KwaZulu Natal)
Mihle LUMKOHigh Performance Centre (Gauteng)
Shanon MACOMOHigh Performance Centre (Gauteng)
Ntateko NKHUNAMams Ladies FC (Gauteng)
Shakira O’MALLEYHigh Performance Centre (Gauteng)
Olivia HARDIERandburg FC (Gauteng)
Philisani HLELACape Town Roses FC (Western Cape)
Yolanda NDULISunflower FC (KwaZulu Natal)
Jessica WADEJVW FC (Gauteng)
Jade LEASKJVW FC (Gauteng)
Tiffany KORTJIEGolden Stars  (Eastern Cape)
Nelly GAMEDELeandre Ladies FC (Mpumalanga)
Jolaine MOUERSSpurs FC (Western Cape)
Nabeelah GALANTUniversity of Cape Town (Western Cape)
Sonika MZINGELICape Town Roses FC (Western Cape)
Tiyana CAROLLESSENVasco Da Gama FC (Western Cape)
Christy NOBLEHigh Performance Centre  (Gauteng)
Inathi MAKHAYI Thunderbirds  FC (KwaZulu Natal)
Oyisa MARHAZI Eluhulwini FC (Eastern Cape)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.