Banyana to face Lesotho

30 May 2018 – It is all systems go for Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana as they prepare to face Lesotho in the second round of the 2018 Africa Wome’s Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Coach Desiree Ellis and her 24-woman squad leave for mountainous Kingdom on Sunday after a two-day camp in Bloemfontein.

“We want to leave early so that we acclimatize to the conditions in Lesotho. We intend to have at least three sessions in Lesotho before Wednesday’s game,” said the Banyana Banyana mentor.

The first leg will be played on Wednesday, 6 June at Setsoto Stadium in Maseru with the second leg scheduled for Bloemfontein on 10 June 2018.

The match in Lesotho kicks off is at 15h00.

“This is the start of the Road to the World Cup in France. We have played Lesotho before and even though we beat them, this is a new game and a different occasion. Victory will get us to the 2018 AWCON in Ghana, said Ellis.

“We are all aware that no game is as easy as it seems and we have to be on top of our game to get a positive result in the first leg. We need to start on a good footing so we can finish the business at home,” added the Banyana Banyana coach.

Meanwhile Ellis has called up Spurs Ladies and Basetsana goalkeeper Jessica Williams to replace Mapaseka Mpuru who has withdrawn from the squad due to exams.

Banyana Banyana Squad – vs Lesotho 1-10 June 2018


1. Andile Dhlamini Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria
2. Jessica Williams Spurs Ladies Western Cape
3. Roxanne Barker UWC Ladies Cape Town
4. Yolula Tsawe JVW FC Johannesburg



5. Lebogang Ramalepe Maindis FC Polokwane
6. Nothando Vilakazi Palace Super Falcons FC Johannesburg
7. Zanele Nhlapho Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria
8. Bambanani Mbane Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
9. Regina Mogolola TUKS Pretoria
10. Karabo Dhlamini Mamelodi Sundowns FC Johannesburg
11.  Thato Letsoso University of Johannesburg Johannesburg



12. Kgaelebane Mohlakoana Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
13. Rachel Sebati TUT-PTA Pretoria
14.Mamello Makhabane JVW FC Johannesburg
15.Refiloe Jane TUT-PTA Pretoria
16.Leandra Smeda UWC Ladies Cape Town
17.Nompumelelo Nyandeni JVW FC Johannesburg
18. Hilda Magaia TUT-PTA Johannesburg
19. Gabriela Salgado JVW FC Johannesburg



20.Jermaine Seoposenwe UWC Ladies Cape Town
21. Melinda Kgadiete Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
22. Chantelle Esau Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria
23.Khanya Xesi UWC Ladies Cape Town
24.Noko Matlou Ma-Indies Polokwane



Related posts

SAB Referees course

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Zambia beat Amajita

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment