Baroka FC


Baroka FC, the side that surprised many by summiting to the top of the Absa Premiership log standings in the early stages of the 2017/18 season, have been rewarded for their efforts.Baroka FC have been declared as the Absa Premiership Quarter One winners.

They won Q1 with 16 points – beating Mamelodi Sundowns and SuperSport United who finished second and third. Mamelodi Sundowns finished on 15 points tied with SuperSport United but the former enjoyed a superior goal difference.

In the first quarter, Baroka FC won four matches and drew the same number of games without tasting defeat.

Baroka FC will receive R1, 5 million for winning Absa Premiership Quarter One.

This is the first Q-Innovation victory for Baroka FC since the inception of the Absa Premiership quarterly awards.

Q-innovation Fact Sheets:

Each side that wins a Quarter gets R1,5 million in prize money

Quarter One (8 Fixtures), Quarter Two (7 Fixtures), Quarter Three (8 Fixtures), Quarter Four (7 Fixtures)

2016/17 Season:

Bidvest Wits won Absa Premiership Quarter One

Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership Quarter Two

Cape Town City won Absa Premiership Quarter Three

Polokwane City won Absa Premiership Quarter Four

2015/16 Season:

Bidvest Wits won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 1 (19 Points, 8 games)

Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 2 (19 points, 7 games)

Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Three (19 points)

Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Four (16 points – with a game in hand)

2014/15 Season

Kaizer Chiefs won 2014/15 Absa Premiership Quarter 1 and Quarter 4

Polokwane City claimed Quarter 2 top honours (2014/15 season)

Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter 3 (2014/15 season)

*Ed Note: The announcement of the Absa Premiership Q1 winners had to be delayed to allow SuperSport United, who had a mathematical chance of winning Q1, to complete their quota of matches.-SOURCED FROM THE PSL WEBSITE

Related posts


Nie Cele


Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment