Baroka win


Baroka FC have knocked Platinum Stars out of the Nedbank Cup after claiming a 1-0 win at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Phokeng on Wednesday night.

Bakgaga saw little of the ball and had only one clear scoring opportunity – a penalty which was converted by Gift Motupa – but their strong defensive performance secured a place in Thursday’s last 16 draw.

Stars should have claimed the lead as early as the fourth minute, with striker Letsie Koapeng controlling a lofted ball in the penalty area before turning to be faced with only Ayanda Dlamini to beat, but his rushed effort was easily claimed by the goalkeeper.

Dlamini had a much tougher time keeping out a swerving effort from Gerald Phiri Jr in the 17th minute, with the ‘keeper having to change directions quickly to punch the ball out after the Malawian had cut inside from the right and let fly from long range.

Those proved to be the only real attacking highlights of a first half which saw Dikwena dominate possession, but Baroka looked sporadically dangerous on the break – even if they hardly troubled goalkeeper Mbongeni Mzimela.

Stars continued to boss the game in the second half, but with 20 minutes to to play they found themselves a goal down after Motupa coolly dispatched a penalty. The spot kick came as a result of a late challenge from Dikwena defender Sibusiso Mthethwa on Baroka substitute Mpho Kgaswane.

In the 75th minute Bakgaga were reduced to 10 men when youngster Goodman Mosele picked up an unnecessary second yellow card and was sent off, handing Dikwena the initiative for the final stages of regulation time.

Yet the hosts were unable to find a way through, despite creating several dangerous situations, especially a late free-kick from Riyaad Norodien which so nearly gave substitute Nduduzi Nyanda a tap-in.

Platinum Stars 0

Baroka FC (0) 1 (Motupa 70’ pen)

Stars: Mzimela, Mere, Mthethwa, Gcaba, Mpeta, Baloyi (Nyanda 80’), Masalesa (Rambuwane 75’), Mkhabela, Norodien, Koapeng (Ntuli 60’), Phiri Jr

Baroka: Dlamini, Kgoetyane, Banda, Madubanya, Mohwatseleng, Mosele, Mdantsane, Makgaka (Mothupa 78’), Nguzana (Kgaswane 57’), Chawapiwa (Ngalande 90+4’), Motupa

Related posts


Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Zim wins Cosafa Cup

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment