Basetsana vs Burundi

Basetsana looking to reverse deficit against Burundi

Basetsana looking to reverse deficit against Burundi  

14 November 2017 – Coach of the South African U20 Women’s National Team, Maud Khumalo will be glad to have a full squad at her disposal ahead of their must win FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup return leg qualifier against Burundi on Saturday, 18 November at the Dobsonville Stadium in Soweto.

The 15h00 kick off will see Basetsana having a tough task of reversing a 2-0 deficit suffered at the hands of the East Africans a fort night ago where a majority of Khumalo’s starters were not available due to matric exams.

The team assembled for camp on Monday, 13 November with the return of team captain, Linda Motlhalo, Lalona Daweti and number one goalkeeper, Mapaseka Mpuru.

Khumalo’s defence will also be bolstered by the return of the central pairing of Bongeka Gamede and Antonio Maponya who both play their football at the HPC academy.

“It is good to have a full squad at our disposal however it does not guarantee us a result. We have a lot of work to do in preparation for this match. The trip to Burundi gave us an even clearer picture of what we are up against and now it is for us to give it our all and fight for a place in the next round of the qualifiers” said Khumalo.

The South African Women’s U20 side is yet to feature in a FIFA World Cup and should they make it to the world showpiece, it will the very first time that a U20 Women’s side participates in a World Cup with this year’s edition set to take place in France from 5 – 24 August.

SA U20 Women’s National Team Squad


  Name & Surname Club
1 Mapaseka Mpuru HPC
2 Jessica Williams Spurs Ladies
3 Robyn Coetsee HPC
4 Loretta Mokoena Mamelodi Sundowns


5 Bongeka Gamede HPC
6 Antonio Maponya HPC
7 Snegugu Zondi DUT Midlands
8 Morongwa Manamela HPC
9 Nolubabalo Sishuba UWC
10 Tyla-Bree Joss JVW


11 Noxolo Cesane Cape Town Roses/ HPC
12 Sinoxolo Cesane Cape Town Roses/ HPC
13 Linda Motlhalo HPC / JVW
14 Nosipho Mahlawe DUT Midlands
15 Lethlogonolo Mashigo Mamelodi Sundowns
16 Madembe Tshikumbu Ma-Indies
17 Lelona Daweti Cape Town Roses
18 Gabriela Salgado JVW
19 Katlego Mabuza UJ
20 Tshegofatso Motlogelwa Soweto Fabulous


21 Zimasa Dekeda Thunder Birds
22 Ntombifikile Ndlovu Sunflower Ladies
23 Kirsten Nolan UJ
24 Khanya Nxesi HPC






Related posts

Coach Senong

Nie Cele


Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment