Headlines News

Chiefs beat Tornado


Kaizer Chiefs were made to sweat for their place in the last 16 of the Nedbank Cup, as they edged ABC Motsepe side Tornado FC 1-0 at the Sisa Dukashe Stadium on Sunday.

The Amakhosi put in an uninspiring display against their determined lower-league opponents and only claimed the victory after extra time and via an own goal. The last 32 tie also kicked off 20 minutes late due to a log-jam outside the venue.

Chiefs enjoyed early dominance in the match, but were unable to create any clear-cut chances with which to test Tornado goalkeeper Khaya Mini – mostly due to their wayward shooting from in and around the penalty area.

The hosts nearly made them pay with a fine chance for striker Kefuew Siyoko in the 22nd minute – he flicked a header on target from a free kick, but Virgil Vries reacted sharply and made a fine save diving to his left.

The Soweto giants almost broke the deadlock on the half hour mark, with Leonardo Castro getting on the end of a corner kick to direct a header toward goal, but his effort rebounded off the crossbar.

Chiefs would have been frustrated that the score was 0-0 at halftime, and their angst continued into the second half. Even the introductions of Bhongolwethu Jayiya and Gustavo Paez failed to spark their attack into life.

However, great credit must go to Tornado and coach Tshepo Motsoeneng for the lower league side’s organisation and discipline.

The regulation 90 minutes ended with the score line still blank, prompting an extra 30 minutes of play. Chiefs clearly upped their game and finally went ahead in the fourth minute of the extra half hour, with Tornado defender Abongile Twani slicing a low cross from Castro into his own net.

On 111 minutes Tornado thought they had earned a penalty when Siyoko was brought down by Kgotso Moleko, but the forward was incorrectly flagged offside – a major let off for the Amakhosi, who were able to see out the remainder of the game and advance into the last 16.

Tornado FC 0

Kaizer Chiefs (0) (0) 1 (Twani og 94’) – After extra time

Tornado: Mini, Twani, Kwanya, Mhlakaza, Dipha, Mbandlwa (Dlamini 72’), Ntombayithethi, Motshabaesi, Magqabeni (Mkhize 61’), Siyoko, Dambile (Mzolo 76’)

Chiefs: Vries, Mphahlele (Jayiya 46’), Hadebe, Cardoso, Moleko, Katande, Ekstein, Mashiane (Zuma 74’), Ntshangase (Paez 57’), Parker, Castro

Related posts


Nie Cele

Dear Fellow South African

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment