Gerald Modisane & Augustine Kwem © Gallo Images

Chippa United ended the 2019/20 Absa Premiership season on a high, defeating Golden Arrows 1-0 at the Orlando Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

> > > HIGHLIGHTS from all the PSL games . . .

The Chilli Boys entered the game with a slight chance of falling into the relegation playoff berth by the final whistle, but instead picked up a narrow win to ensure they finished well clear of danger. Instead they overtook Abafana Bes’thende on the log, ending 11th on goal difference ahead of the Durban side, who finished the season with a run of nine winless matches.

Chippa looked the stronger team in the opening minutes and deservedly claimed the lead midway through the first half, with striker Augustine Kwem finding a pocket of space amidst the Arrows defence before sending a shot beyond the reach of goalkeeper Sifiso Mlumgwana.

The visitors responded well to going behind and began putting together some fine passing movements, but too often they lacked the final pass or cross to give the likes of Thando Khwela and Knox Mutizwa a clear sight of Veli Mothwa’s goal.

Khwela had a half chance on 43 minutes, picking up a flick-on from a throw-in before getting away a snap shot, but his effort flashed over the target and left the score 1-0 in favour of the Chilli Boys at the interval.

Arrows made a change at the start of the second half by introducing Nduduzo Sibiya off the bench and their attack moved up a couple of gears. Mutizwa forced Mothwa into a fine save in the 53rd minute, though they soon needed Mlungwana to come sharply off his line at the other end as Chippa sought a second goal on the break.

The teams traded chances through the remainder of the match, with Mutizwa coming closest for Arrows on 72 minutes when he sent an effort just wide of the mark, but ultimately Chippa held out for the victory.

Chippa United (1) 1 (Kwem 23’)
Golden Arrows 0

Chippa: Mothwa, Thopola, Nsabiyumva, K. Moyo, Maphanga, Lebitos, Mthethwa, Komane, Maphangule, Sekotlong (Gamildien 59’), Kwem (Mbenyane 62’)

Arrows: Mlungwana, Sableo, Mathiane, Ndlovu, Dlamini, Mtshali, Parusnath, Makhubela, Conco, Khwela (Sibiya 46’), Mutizwa© Backpage TXT.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.