Cosmos goes through

Cosmos goes through


Jomo Cosmos secured a surprise 1-0 win over Baroka FC in the 2018/19 Nedbank Cup round of 32 match at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Tuesday night.

The victory saw Ezenkosi advance to the Last 16, while Premier Soccer League (PSL) outfit Bakgaga bowed out of the tournament.

Bakgaga started the match brightly and they threatened first through Collins Makgaga just seven minutes into the encounter.

The attacking midfielder force Cosmos goalkeeper Mwinya Chibwe into a decent save with a long-range shot as the hosts looked to grab an early goal.

Ezenkosi then began pushing forward in numbers, with Chubuike Ohizu causing havoc for the Baroka defence with his pace and clever movement upfront.

The Nigerian striker burst into Bakgaga box, before unleashing a shot which was well saved by goalkeeper Elvis Chipezeze with the half-hour mark approaching.

The Baroka shot-stopper was beaten in the 29th minute when Ohizu brilliantly set-up Inky Masuku, who fired home to make it 1-0 to Cosmos.

The hosts continued to attack after scoring and they nearly doubled their lead when Masuku was sent through on goal in the 36th minute.

However, this time the forward was denied by Zimbabwean keeper Chipezeze to ensure that the first half ended with Cosmos leading 1-0.

Baroka coach Wedson Nyirenda made a change nine minutes after the restart – introducing the 2018 Zimbabwean Footballer of the Year Rodwell Chinyengetere.

Bakgaga, who were the favourites to win the cup encounter, did most of the attacking with Ezenkosi looking to defend their slender lead.

Ange Lebahi was working tirelessly at the heart of the Cosmos defence as the Ivorian defender Ange Lebahi looked to ensure that his side kept a clean sheet in Polokwane.

Ultimately, National First Division (NFD) giants Cosmos emerged 1-0 winners over the reigning Telkom Knockout winners Baroka.

Baroka 0

Cosmos (1) 1 (Masuku 29′)

Baroka: Chipezeze, Makume, Banda (Kgoetyane 46′), Gebhardt, Madubanya (Mongae 69′), Sodi, Patjie (Chinyengetere 54′), Makgaka, Semenya, Dickens, Mdantsane.

Cosmos: Chibwe, Ohizu (Sono Jr 75′), Obi, Hanamub, Mbokoma (Maziya 90′), Gumede, Kekana (Mncube 59′), Ledwaba, Lebahi, Mabula, Masuku.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.