Headlines News

Sport Awards


Gauteng  Sport awards 2018 are upon us and around the corner

Nie Cele

Tana Malinga

Pic sourced from Randfontein Herald.

Brace yourself up!for the upcoming  opulent, fashionable  and dazzling Gauteng Sport awards  This was a stern warning and a downright promise made by the organizers at a glitzy event of the 2018 finalists held at Green Hills Sports complex in Randfontein.

MEC for Gauteng Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation,FaithMazibuko  congratulated the finalists and took a swipe at those naysayers who roasted the department for splashing money on honouring the  sung and unsung sporting athletes of the province.

“I want to put it on record that it is good if government recognizes these heroes and heroines.  If government doesn’t do that, No one else will do it. It is our duty as government to invest in our citizens.

“Shame on them!  We have a moral obligation to honour sung and unsung sporting stars that are playing big roles in their communities by putting their towns on the map,”Mazibuko argued.

Back to the story,  This year’s  list for the finalists contained more than  a dozen categories.

These yearly awards was launched under the theme ‘Celebrating Excellence and Inspiring the Youth.’

This year’s nomination process kicked off between June and  July 2018, with members of the public submitting their nominations at various outlets across the province.

In keeping with this year’s theme, the departmentalso revealed that it will also be celebrating the iconic centenary of former President Nelson Mandela, as well as AlbertinaSisulu, both of whom were actively and avidly involved in boxing and tennis, respectively.

Speaking at the event,   Mazibuko told the packed hall that she was on cloud nine by the reception from communities, who came forward in numbers to submit their nominations.

She stressed that the department was proud to honour the sung and unsung sporting stars of Gauteng, who give them confidence to acclaim the province as the Home of Champions.

“The list and type of nominees received shows the growth of these awards especially in reaching community and development of sports.

“More than rewarding these stars, we want to show our appreciation of their talents and dedication to the course (sport), to which former President Nelson Mandela described as having ‘power to inspire and unite people in a way that little else does,” Mazibuko pointed.

At the event it was also revealed that this year’s finalists were shortlisted by a panel of independent adjudicators, represented by individuals from the media, academic and sporting fraternity.

Futshane Consulting Pty (Ltd) has been appointed as the auditors to monitor this process.


Did you know?

The winners are expected to be announced at a gala dinner awards ceremony at Silverstar Casino on Sunday, 02September 2018.

See Below the list of  finalists.

Sportswoman with a Disability

  • Maria Combrink – Athletics
  • KgothatsoMontjane – Wheelchair Tennis
  • Khethiwe Zulu – Wheelchair Basketball

Sportsman With a Disability

  • Steven Walgenbach – Wheelchair Basketball
  • Jacques Joubert – Judo
  • Neo Ndlovu – Athletics

Sport Team With a Disability

  • Central Gauteng Blind Cricket Team
  • Gauteng Wheelchair Basketball Senior Men’s Team
  • Northern’s Deaf Team

Administrator of the Year

  • Willem Jacobus (Jaco) Coetzer – Valke/Falcons Rugby Union
  • SiyabongaNdlovu – Gauteng Sport Association for the Physically Disabled and Visually


  • MooniraRamathula – Football

Technical Official of the Year

  • Daphne Dawn Bird – Aquatics
  • Charmaine Ho – Archery
  • MphoMokhoba – Tennis

Most Promising Player of the Year

  • Bianca Meyer – Rugby (Blue Bulls Rugby Union)
  • JesdelKayembePassua-Nzambi – Boxing
  • WandisileSimelane – Athletics
  • DalaneBhekaniDube – Volleyball

Most Promising Team of the Year

  • Pimville Stars Football Academy Senior Team
  • Troyeville Primary School U/13 Boys Volleyball Team
  • Superfins Swimming Club

Community Media of the Year

  • Soweto TV
  • Mapepeza Community Media – Print media
  • Pheli FM

School Sport Athlete of the Year

  • AlwandeSkhosana – Wheelchair Tennis
  • Fernando Booysen – Wrestling (HoerskoolHugenoot)
  • Caitlin Bentley – Rowing

Sports Journalist of the Year

  • Charles Baloyi – Media 24
  • Obed Philips – Caxton Newspapers
  • MihlaliBaleka – Independent Media

Community Based Sport & Recreation of the Year

  • MphoMakhoba – Hockey and Football
  • Faith and Hope Foundation – Football and Netball
  • MooniraRamathula

Coach of the Year

  • Nico Coetzee – Wrestling
  • Jenny van Dyk – Netball
  • NkosilathiMoyo – Volleyball

Sports Fan of the Year

  • Mamello Constance Makha – Football
  • MmakgaboMaheya – Football
  • Melanie Ramjee – Special Olympics South Africa

Sport Team of the Year

  • Gauteng Jaguars Netball Premier League Team – Netball
  • Motor Sport South Africa – Motorsport
  • Johannesburg Spikers Volleyball Academy Men’s Senior Team – Volleyball

Sportsman of the Year

  • KagisoRabada – Cricket
  • Lungi Ngidi – Cricket
  • AphiweDyantyi – Rugby
  • Martin Erasmus – Wrestling

Sportswoman of the Year

  • Kirsten McCann – Rowing
  • Refiloe Jane – Football
  • DanelleWentzel – Archery

Life time achievement awards

The following categories are determined through public voting:

Sport Personality of the Year

  • KgothatsoMontjane – Wheelchair Tennis (Sport 09)
  • KagisoRabada – Cricket (Sport 01)
  • William Mokgopo – Cycling (Sport 06)
  • Refiloe Jane – Football (Sport 10)

Sports Fan of the Year

  • Mamello Constance Makha – Football (Sport 07)
  • MmakgaboMaheya – Football (Sport 05)
  • Melanie Ramjee – Special Olympics South Africa (Sport 03)

Sports Programme of the Year

  • Withziro2six – Kasie FM (Sport 08)
  • DlalaMzansi – Soweto TV (Sport 02)
  • The Home Straight (Sport 04)

To vote for your favourite, SMS ‘Sport’ followed by your nominee code (eg. Sport 02 for Dlala

Mzansi) to 49497, SMS’s charged at R1.50 (free SMS’s do not apply).

There is no limit to the number of SMS’s sent per cellphone number. The competition runs from2nd August to 2nd September 2018 17h00, T&C’s apply.

The prize money is as follows:

– R7500 per finalist (up from R5000 last year)

– R15,000 for the winner per category

– Sport Personality Award winner will receive R50,000

– The Life Time Achiever award recipient will receive R50,000.


Related posts

De sa joins the team of choice

Nie Cele


Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment