Dikwena miss out on top 8 despite win

Bonginkosi Ntuli © Gallo Images
Bonginkosi Ntuli © Gallo Images

A solitary goal from Bonginkosi Ntuli helped Platinum Stars to a 1-0 win over SuperSport United in their final Absa Premiership match at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The loss for the Nedbank Cup champions sees them sitting at number five on the log table with 48 points from 30 league matches.

It was a quiet start in the Capital City, but Vuyo Mere nearly handed the visitors the lead when his long range effort went inches wide in the tenth minute.

For Stuart Baxter’s men, it took them time to settle down in the encounter and to create goalscoring chances.

However, it was Thabo Mnyamane whose attempt went wide failing to produce a save from Stars goalkeeper Stephen Hoffman in the 28th minute.

With chances few and far between in the encounter, Mere led by example as he unleashed a powerful shot which was swallowed by United stopper Ronwen Williams in the 36th minute.

It was 0-0 at half time.

Two minutes into the second half Ntuli broke the deadlock for Dikwena as he finished from close range with a beautiful left footed shot, 1-0.

The Tshwane giants put more numbers forward as they tried to grab an equaliser, but Hoffman and his defence stood firm at the back.

United’s best chance came in the 84th minute when substitute Aubrey Modiba forced the Dikwena keeper to produce a fine save.

As they continued their attack, United dominated the Rustenburg-based side and Reneilwe Letshlonyane broke free in the 92nd minute only to see his effort going wide.

In the end, Cavin Johnson’s men held on to the lead and walked away with the full three points to reach number nine on the log with 37 points.

SuperSport United: (0) 1
Platinum Stars: (0) 1 (Ntuli 47′)

United: SuperSport: Williams, Boxall, Daniels, Gould, Bhasera, Furman, Letsholonyane, Masango (Phala 46′), Mnyamane, Grobler (Modiba 46′), Brockie (Nkhatha 76′)

Stars: Hoffman, Sithole, Zulu, Mere (Khunou 76′), Mwedihanga, De Jongh, Mkhabela, Phiri Jnr, Nale (Tshabalala 85′), Ntuli, Shilongo (Gwabeni 79′)

Sourced from the PSL website.

Related posts

Motsepe Foundation soccer

Nie Cele

NFD Maccabi

Nie Cele

Nedbank cup draw

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment