Tau and Zungu the toast as Bafana Bafana bag maximum points

South Africa……..(0) 2

Sao Tome…………..0

13 November 2020 – Mercurial striker Percy Tau scored a 55th minute penalty and substitute Bongani Zungu headed home a 90th minute goal to secure maximum points for the home side in the Cameroon Africa Cup of Nations qualifier.

In a match played late on Friday at Moses Mabhida Stadium, the home team struggled in the first half but were far improved in the second half and were full value of their precious two goals.

First, Tau was brought down in the box and dusted himself to score from the spot before Zungu rose above everyone to put the issue beyond the visitors’ reach.

The match started at a slow pace and Lebogang Manyama was the first to get an opening but his header from a Tau cross was wide.

On the 19th minute the Sao Tome goalkeeper fumbled a harmless looking ball but Tau failed to take advantage.

The visitors relied heavily on sporadic counter attacks and their first meaningful attack was on the 21st minute but a close free kick did not trouble Ronwen Williams.

Sao Tome threatened again on the 39th minute but striker Edimilson Viegas header was well wide.

The two teams went to the break deadlocked at 0-0 but the home team came back a changed side at the break and on the 55th minute, Tau was brought down in the box and the referee pointed to the spot.

The Belgium based striker dusted himself to send the visitors’ goalkeeper the wrong way to give the home side the much-needed boost.

In the 65th minute, Zwane could have made it 2-0 but his free header went narrowly wide inside the box.

Mokotjo was then taken off for Bongani Zungu soon after before Keagan Dolly failed to beat the goalkeeper after being put through as Bafana Bafana upped the antic.

It was a much-improved second half performance as Bafana literally camped in Sao Tome’s half and the Zungu second half goal capped off a great second half comeback by Bafana Bafana.

Bafana Bafana starting line-up:
Ronwen Williams (GK), Thapelo Morena, Innocent Maela, Mosa Lebusa, Thulani Hlatshwayo (C), Dean Furman, Percy Tau, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Lebogang Manyama, Themba Zwane, Keagan Dolly.

Substitutes: Darren Keet (GK), Itumeleng Khune (GK), Siyabonga Dube, Lyle Lakay, Motjeka Madisha, Rushine de Reuck, Bongani Zungu, Luther Singh, Tebogo Mokoena, Thabiso Kutumela, Vincent Pule, Thabo Nodada, Siyethemba Sithebe.
Injured: Kermit Erasmus.



Related posts

Benny’s CT CITY beat Amazulu

Nie Cele

Bucs win in CAF

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment