Telkom semis


Bidvest Wits and Kaizer Chiefs will write another chapter in their extensive cup history when they meet in the semifinals of the Telkom Knockout at Bidvest Stadium on 18 November 2017, kick-off at 15h30.Tickets are available at TicketPro at R40.

Bidvest Wits and Kaizer Chiefs have met in no less than 28 cup matches since 1985: the Soweto side have claimed 14 wins in the rivalry compared to seven for the Johannesburg side (who have also side claimed four victories via a penalty shootout).

The teams’ last cup meeting was in the 2014 Nedbank Cup semifinals, where the match ended 2-2 before Wits went on to win via post-match spot kicks, while the pair last crossed swords in the Telkom Knockout back in 2012 in a match which saw the Clever Boys claim a narrow 3-2 win.

Overall, the teams have met in 91 matches across all competitions since 1985. Chiefs have claimed 45 wins compared to 19 for Wits, while 27 matches have been drawn. The teams have met once already this season, playing out a 1-1 draw in a league clash back in September: Siphiwe Tshabalala opened the scoring for the Amakhosi, but the Clever Boys hit back late on through Amr Gamal.

Bidvest Wits earned their place in the semifinals thanks to victories over Free State Stars (4-2 after extra time) and Baroka FC (1-0) in the last 16 and quarterfinals respectively. The Clever Boys are two-time League Cup champions, claiming the trophy in 1985 and 1995, and will fancy their chances of a first title in the Telkom Knockout era if they can overcome the Soweto giants.

Chiefs, meanwhile, overcame AmaZulu (3-0) and Chippa (1-0) in the last 16 and quarterfinals respectively to claim a place in the final four of the 2017 TKO. The Soweto giants have won a record 13 League Cup titles (three of them in the TKO era), though their last triumph was in the 2010/11 season.

The winners of this match will go on to face either Polokwane City or Bloemfontein Celtic – who meet at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Sunday, 19 November – in the final next month.

Head-to-Head (since 1985)


Season Cup Result Scorers

1985 JPS final 1st leg Wits 2-1 Chiefs Lambert 2; Maponyane

1985 JPS final 2nd leg Chiefs 1-0 Wits Khulu

1985 JPS final replay Chiefs 1-2 Wits Dladla (pen); Frielick, Ntombela

1987 BP quarterfinal Chiefs 4-0 Wits Thindwa, Maponyane 2, Mohaneloa

1987 Mainstay quarterfinal Chiefs 3-2 Wits Mthimkhulu 2, McMillan (og); Mudie, Maphike (og)

1989 BP final 1st leg Wits 0-1 Chiefs Khuse

1989 BP final 2nd leg Chiefs 1-1 Wits Maponyane; Field

1989 Ohlsson semifinal 1st leg Wits 1-2 Chiefs Shongwe; Thindwa, MacGregor

1989 Ohlsson semifinal 2nd leg Chiefs 2-2 Wits MacGregor, Phiri; Freeze (og), Tinkler

1990 BP quarterfinal Chiefs 1-2 Wits MacGregor; Anley (pen), Mills

1990 JPS quarterfinal Chiefs 1-2 Wits MacGregor; Tinkler, Bwalya

1991 JPS 2nd round Chiefs 1-1* Wits Khuse; De Ridder

1995 BP final Wits 2-0 Chiefs Carnell 2

1995 Coca-Cola semifinal Chiefs 1-1* Wits Lebese; Gordon

1997/98 Bob Save 1st round Chiefs 3-1 Wits Lebese 2, Sekhoto; Ewen

1997/98 Rothmans qfinal 1st leg Wits 0-1 Chiefs Williams (pen)

1997/98 Rothmans qfinal 2nd leg Chiefs 1-1 Wits Lebese; McNab

2000/01 BP quarterfinal Chiefs 2-0 Wits Mooki, Nomvethe

2003/04 SAA quarterfinal Wits 2-1 Chiefs I. Winstanley, Murisa; Radebe

2003/04 Coca-Cola semifinal Chiefs 3-0 Wits Dlamini, McCarthy, Musasa

2004/05 Absa 2nd round Chiefs 0-0*Wits

2006/07 Telkom KO 1st round Wits 1-2 Chiefs Hendricks; Kilambe 2

2009/10 MTN8 quarterfinal Chiefs 3-1 Wits Nhleko, Mathebula, Musona; Haskins

2010/11 Nedbank 2nd round Wits 0-4 Chiefs Tshabalala 2, Ngcobo, G. Lebese

2011/12 MTN8 quarterfinal Chiefs 2-1 Wits Parker (pen), Masango; Gumede

2012/13 Telkom KO last 16 Wits 3-2 Chiefs Pattison, Faty, Koapeng; Parker, Majoro

2012/13 Nedbank Cup last 32 Wits 0-3 Chiefs Gaxa, Gould, Masango

2013/14 Nedbank Cup semifinal Wits 2-2* Chiefs Vilakazi (pen), Ngcobo; Mphela (pen), Maluleka

*Wits won on penalties


Season Result Scorers

2012/13 Chiefs 1-1 Wits Tshabalala; Chapman

2013/14 Chiefs 2-1 Wits Nkhatha, Majoro; Chapman

2013/14 Wits 0-0 Chiefs

2014/15 Wits 0-3 Chiefs Parker 2, Mathoho

2014/15 Chiefs 1-2 Wits Tshabalala; Botes, Sekese

2015/16 Chiefs 2-1 Wits Katsande (pen), Gordinho; Klate

2015/16 Wits 0-1 Chiefs Maluleka

2016/17 Wits 2-1 Chiefs Pelembe, Hlatshwayo; Gordinho

2016/17 Chiefs 1-0 Wits Paez

2017/18 Chiefs 1-1 Wits Tshabalala; Gamal



Wits 28 7 7 14 30 49

Chiefs 28 14 7 7 49 30

OVERALL RECORD (all competitions)


Wits 91 19 27 45 73 133

Chiefs 91 45 27 19 133 73

Related posts

Benny’s CT CITY beat Amazulu

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Nedbank cup dates and venues

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment