Devon Saal of Maritzburg United and Luvolwethu Mpeta of Platinum Stars during the Telkom Cup Draw held at Wanderers Club in Johannesburg on the 16th October, 2017. Photo by Dominic Barnardt/Bakonepix

The 2017/18 Telkom Knockout Tournament (TKO) was launched in Johannesburg today. Although football will once again be the main act, this year’s TKO is also centered on rewarding the passionate supporters of the game.

Whichever matter which team you support, Telkom will give every fan a chance to win big this season. To start winning, supporters can dial *123# from a Telkom prepaid sim card, purchase a bundle and see their purchase multiplied by the combined score of the game with the most goals in each round of the Telkom Knockout – 0% heartbreak and 100% winnings.

Telkom’s Chief Marketing Officer Cambridge Mokanyane said “The convention in football says the team that scores the most goals wins. Telkom is taking away heartbreak of losing by enabling everyone to win. The only thing that matters for in this competition is the final score line. Simply dial *123# from a Telkom prepaid sim and stand a chance to win big.”

More exciting news for Telkom prepaid subscribers who enter the competition is that there are massive cash prizes to be won in each round of the tournament. In the round of 16, entrants stand a chance of winning R100 000. The quarterfinal comes with an increased amount of R150 000 and the semi-final will give entrants a chance to get their hands on R250 000. There’s a massive cash prize of R500 000 to be won by a lucky fan in the final.

Telkom has not only gone big for its prepaid subscribers but have opened a platform where any football fan can nominate a deserving school to win football kit and equipment. In addition to this prize, each school will receive a football clinic.To nominate a school fans can sms the name of the school to 33927. The winning schools will be announced at the TKO final. PSL acting Chief Executive Mato Madlala said: “Nowadays sponsors and rights holders have realized that we have to enhance the experience of the spectator and also reward loyalty. The partnership between the League and Telkom which goes back to over 17 years demonstrates that we, as the PSL, have a strong product that gives confidence to partners like Telkom. We are looking forward to another edition of the TKO – but we know that things are going to be different.”

Telkom has been a proud sponsor of the much talked about Knockout for an unforgettable 11 years and has enjoyed a long and successful 17-year relationship with the Premier Soccer League, contributing to the growth of South African football both on and off the field. The tournament was first launched in 2006, after Telkom had previously sponsored the much-anticipated pre-season Telkom Charity Cup from 1999 to 2010, and the 16-team competition has grown from strength to strength.

Silver Stars (now Platinum Stars) were the first winners of the Telkom Knockout in 2006 and since then the likes of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns, SuperSport United, Ajax Cape Town, Bloemfontein Celtic and Cape Town City have had the chance to get their hands on the trophy. This year’s edition of the Telkom Knockout will certainly be one the supporters will never forget.

Be on the lookout for further details via out @TelkomSA Facebook and twitter pages.

2017/2018 ROUND OF 16 FIXTURES HOME AWAY 1. Baroka FC Cape Town City 2. Chippa United Mamelodi Sundowns 3. Bloemfontein Celtic SuperSport United 4. Polokwane City Ajax Cape Town 5. Kaizer Chiefs Amazulu FC 6. Bidvest Wits Free State Stars 7. Martitzburg United Platinum Stars 8. L. Golden Arrows Orlando Pirates.- PSL WEBSITE.

Related posts

Banyana Cyprus cup

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Down win

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment