Wits win over Maritzburg

Phumlani Ntshangase © Backpagepix
Phumlani Ntshangase © Backpagepix

A goal from Phumlani Ntshangase handed Bidvest Wits a 1-0 win over Maritzburg United in an Absa Premiership match at Bidvest Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Wits started positively with Gabadinho Mhango trying his luck from distance in the fifth minute, but his effort sailed inches over the crossbar.

Ten minutes later Thulani Hlatshwayo came close to scoring for Wits when he met a dangerous fre-kick into the box, but his header went narrowly wide of the target.

In the 20th minute Maritzburg created their first real chance with Lebohang Maboe creating some space for himself on the edge of the box, but his powerful shot was well-saved by Moeneeb Josephs.

Five minutes later Mogakolodi Ngele should have given the home side the lead when he broke through on goal, but fired over the target with just the keeper to beat.

Neither side could find a goal before the halftime whistle and entered the break all-square.

Wits came out firing in the second half and almost scored two minutes after the restart when Thulani Hlatshwayo met a cross from Mogakolodi Ngele, but his header shaved the wrong side of the post.

Ten minutes later Wits did manage to take the lead when Phumlani Ntshangase headed home a free-kick delivered into the box by Phakamani Mahlambi, 1-0.

Maritzburg tried to find their way back into the match and came close to levelling matters in the 72nd minute when Kurt Lentjies met a cross into the box, but his header sailed just over the target with the keeper caught off his line.

Wits defended stoutly in the final 15 minutes to hold on for the win which sees them maintain their place at the top of the league table.

The loss for Maritzburg leaves them in seventh place on the league table.

Bidvest Wits (0) 1 (Ntshangase 56’)

Maritzburg United (0) 0


Wits: Josephs, Hlatshwayo, Khumalo, Ngele (Pelembe 78’), Hlanti, Mhango (Mahlambi 46’), Myeni (Scott 46’), Malajila, Motshwari, Frosler, Ntshangase.

Maritzburg: Vries, Fransman, Weidlich, Mngonyama, Makaringe, Fileccia (Mekoa 65’), Ndlovu, Sanoka (Shandu 76’), Maboe, Lentjies, Dlamini (Rusike 55’).

This article was sourced from the PSL website.


Related posts


Nie Cele

Burkina Faso

Nie Cele

Kay Motsepe Clapham

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment