Dan Morganof & Samir Nurkovic © Backpagepix

Maritzburg United held Kaizer Chiefs to a 1-1 draw in an Absa Premiership match at the Harry Gwala Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

As a result, Amakhosi finished the year at the top of the league standings – seven points above second-placed Mamelodi Sundowns, while the Team of Choice are placed eighth on the table.

Amakhosi started the match brightly and they fired the first warning two minutes into the encounter through their star player Khama Billiat.

The Zimbabwean attacker unleashed a shot which went just wide of the upright from the edge of the box.

Chiefs did break the through Lebogang Manyama, who netted his fourth league goal of the season.

The South Africa international headed home Samir Nurkovic’s cross to make it 1-0 to Chiefs in the 21st minute.

However, the Team of Choice managed to restore following a mistake by Amakhosi’s veteran midfielder Willard Katsande.

Judas Moseamedi pounced and beat Chiefs goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi with a neat finish to make it 1-1 just after the half-hour mark.

The score was 1-1 during the halftime break following a lively first-half.

The Team of Choice attacked in numbers in the early stages of the second-half with coach Eric Tinkler having introduced Micah Lea’alafa.

The hosts were awarded a penalty after Katsande was adjudged to have fouled Keagan Buchanan in the box.

Daylon Claason then stepped up and he was denied by Nigeria international Akpeyi from the spot-kick in the 67th minute.

Daniel Morgan then hit the crossbar with a deflected header six minutes later as the hosts looked to grab a late winning goal.

The two teams then pushed for a late winning goal, but it never came and Maritzburg and Chiefs settled for a 1-1 draw on the day.

Maritzburg (1) 1 (Moseamedi 34′)

Chiefs (1) 1 (Manyama 21′)

Maritzburg: Ofori, Morgan (Yappie 79′), Kunene, Mngonyama, De Reuck, Allie, Buchanan, Claasen, Brockie (Lea’alafa 55′), Timm, Moseamedi.

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Ngezana, Sasman, Cardoso, Mathoho, Katsande, Maluleka (Baccus 65′), Billiat (Ngcobo 81′), Castro (Zuma 46′), Manyama, Nurkovic.© Backpage TXT.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.