Polokwane wins


Polokwane City recorded a hard-fought 1-0 win over Free State Stars in Absa Premiership match at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday night.

The victory took Rise and Shine to sixth place on the league standings, while Ea Lla Koto slipped down to 14th place.

The hosts started the game well, with Mohammed Anas facing his former side Stars for the first time since leaving the club in July 2018.

However, the Ghanaian striker picked up an injury in the 21st minute and he was replaced by Polokwane attacker Bongile Booi.

Rise and Shine continued to attack following Anas’ departure, with last season’s Absa Premiership Golden Boot winner Rodney Ramagalela leading their attack.

Ramagalela forced Stars goalkeeper Ali Badre Sangare into a decent low save as the home side looked to take the lead.

Jabulani Maluleke, who remains an inspirational leader for the hosts despite being 36, was working tirelessly in the middle of the park.

The deadlock was broken seven minutes before the halftime break and it was Booi who scored for the home side.

The former Milano United attacker burst into the Stars box, before beating Ivorian keeper Sangare with a low shot to make it 1-0 to Polokwane.

The score was 1-0 to Polokwane following a lively first half.

The hosts launched attacks after the restart as they looked to double their lead, with Booi and Ramagalela keeping the Ea Lla Koto defence busy.

Booi found some space outside the Stars box in the 55th minute and he unleashed a low shot which narrowly missed the target.

Stars head coach Luc Eymael decide to introduce experienced striker Eleazar Rodgers in the 69th minute as the visitors looked to snatch a late equaliser.

However, the Rise and Shine backline, which was led by Sibusiso Mbonani, looked solid and organised in the closing stages of the game.

Ultimately, Polokwane emerged 1-0 winners over Stars after containing the visitors in the latter stages of the game.


Booi 38′

FS Stars 0

Polokwane: Chigova, Ranaka, Hlongwane, Motloung, Mbonani, Phiri (Nkili 80′), Seabi, Ramagalela, Maluleke (Maluleke W 90+1′), Anas (Booi 23′), Musona.

FS Stars: Sangare, Masehe, Tema, Mobbie, Keita, Phungwayo, Makhaula (Rodgers 69′), Tchilimbou (Gandze 46′), Jantjie, Dlamini (Twala 60′), Moseamedi.


Related posts

Nie Cele

El Classico clash

Nie Cele

KE Yona team joins PSL

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment