Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila beat Swallows FC 4-3 on penalties (2-2 after extra-time) at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on Friday evening to book their spot in the Nedbank Cup quarterfinals.

Washington Arubi saved successive penalties from Vuyo Mere and Musa Nyatama as Tshakuma became the first team to beat Swallows in just under a year.

Thabo Mnyamane fired the hosts in front in the 19th minute as he built on his scoring form with another unstoppable free-kick that fizzed past Virgil Vries in the Swallows goal from the edge of the area.

Vhadau Vha Damani dominated the ensuing minutes and Vries did well to keep out Celimpilo Ngema’s rasping effort with an unorthodox save, before Lehlohonolo Nonyane watched his header cannon off the woodwork, with the Namibian shot-stopper well beaten.

Having rode their luck in the pouring rain, Swallows pulled level in the 44th minute as Sipho Sibiya powered home a sliding header on what was a very wet surface under foot.

TTM regained their lead in the 52nd minute as Rhulani Manzini nodded a pin-point cross from Mogakolodi Ngele into the back of the net, but as has often been the case this season, Swallows just didn’t give up and pulled level once more with 76 minutes on the clock as Vuyo Mere thumped the ball past Arubi from close range.

The hosts had a chance to win the match in extra-time when S’fiso Hlanti hacked down Joseph Malongoane inside the penalty area, but Vries denied Meshack Maphangule from the spot as penalties duly followed.

Arubi saved Mere’s attempt before Maphangule made amends from the spot to put pressure on Nyatama. The midfielder struck his shot well, but Arubi guessed correctly to emerge as the hero on the night.

Tshakhuma (1) 2 (Mnyamane 19′ Manzini 52′)

Swallows FC (1) 2 (Sibiya 44′ Mere 76′)

Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila won 4-3 on penalties.

Tshakhuma: Arubi; Lukhubeni, Ndengane, Nonyane, Ravhuhali, Madhanaga (Malongoane 98′), Manaka, Ngema (Maphangule 99′), Ngele (Theron 74′), Mnyamane (Rakhale 99′), Manzini (Rantie 71′).

Swallows FC: Vries; Hlanti, Sibiya (Mthethwa 108′), Ngcobo, Mere, Nyatama, Thibedi (Mokoena 78′), Mahlatsi, Sekgota (90+3′), Mhlongo (Mosadi 72′), Malinga (Gamildien 72′).©


Related posts


Nie Cele

Chiefs beat Wits

Nie Cele

Bafana Bafana draw with Nigeria

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment