Gauteng Premier, David Makhura.

Gauteng calls for entries for the 2017 Gauteng Premier’s Service Excellence Awards

Gauteng Premier David Makhura is calling the public to nominate outstanding projects and individuals in government and civil society that are improving the lives of the people of Gauteng for the 2017 Gauteng Premier’s Service Excellence Awards.


The annual ceremony is an opportunity for the Premier to recognise contributions made by civil servants, business, Non-Governmental Organisations and the civil society in improving the socio-economic growth and transformation of Gauteng. The ceremony will take place on 28 February 2017.


As part of Ntirhisano, Premier Makhura has seen innovative partnerships that have contributed to job creation, empowerment, social cohesion, improved health care and sustainable development in the province, to name a few.


“This administration recognises the significant contribution that is made by other stakeholders to the transformation agenda of Gauteng. This has broadened the scope of the awards in a unique approach by government to recognise and reward significant and exceptional contribution of individuals, and organisations in improving the lives of communities in the province,” said Premier Makhura.


Public servants and members of the public are encouraged to nominate deserving teams and or individuals for the following categories:


  • Social Transformation award
  • Economic Growth award
  • Clean Governance award
  • Innovation award
  • Sustainable Development award
  • Celebrated Individual award


The final category, Premier’s Special Award will be awarded at the sole discretion of the Premier and the Executive Council.


Excellence will be rewarded in all sectors (public and private) to entrench the culture of Batho Pele – People First. This demonstrates that government cannot do it alone and that the principle of ‘co-production’ underpins the delivery of services to the residents of the GCR.


In line with the fifth administration’s commitment to encouraging active citizenry, it is government’s intention to listen to the needs and the complaints of residents and also tell government where it is doing well. Hence, for the first time this year the involvement of community participation in the awards.


Communities are best placed, from their experience of service delivery to nominate service sites; projects and champions that go the extra mile to deliver services.


The shortlisted entries in this year’s awards will be adjudicated by two representative teams of five non-partisan judges. The provincial judging team will comprise members from government, civil society (Labour, Academia, Non-Governmental Organisation and Business sector).


Premier Makhura and Director General, Phindile Baleni will appoint a team of adjudicators befitting the stature of the awards.  The adjudication will be conducted over five days which will include site visits to shortlisted projects for practical observation and verification.


Nominations forms are available on the provincial government’s website at  The call for entries will close on 27 January 2017.


Related posts


Nie Cele

Ramos ready to quit

Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Leave a Comment