SuperSport into Nedbank Cup quarterfinals

SuperSport United booked their place in the Nedbank Cup quarterfinals with a 2-0 win over KwaDukuza United at the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium on Tuesday night.

Matsantsa’s goals were scored by Mandla Masango and Aubrey Modiba, sending the defending champions into the last eight of South Africa’s National Cup competition at the expense of the lower league KwaZulu-Natal side.

Despite facing a major CAF Confederation Cup tie this weekend, SuperSport selected a strong starting XI, though there was a concession to youth and the future with the inclusion of 19-year-old midfielder Teboho Mokoena.

The teenager had the visitors’ first effort on goal in the eighth minute, with his low shot well saved by KwaDukuza goalkeeper Mandla Tsengwa, while Ronwen Williams had a heart-in-mouth moment and the other end when he dropped a straightforward ball before recovering with a fine save.

Matsatsantsa had to wait until the 36th minute to take the lead, with Thuso Phala providing a well-placed cross for Mandla Masango to score with a simple header past Tsengwa.

Five minutes later Phala had a chance of his own to add to SuperSport’s lead, but he sliced his shot just wide of the near post from a tight angle, leaving the score 1-0 in favour of the Tshwane at the break.

SuperSport made a change at the start of the second half, introducing striker Jeremy Brockie in favour of Kingston Nkhatha. The New Zealander took a while to get into the game, but just before the hour mark he forced Tsengwa into a superb save.

The Tshwane side ensured there was no nervous ending to the game when Aubrey Modiba crashed home their second goal in the 85th minute, though there was a blot on their copybook when substitute Thabo Mnyamane picked up a red card shortly thereafter.

KwaDukuza United 0

SuperSport United (1) 2 (Masango 36’, Modiba 85’)

KwaDukuza: Tsengwa, Mjoli, Khumalo, Mthabela, Mkhwanazi, Luthuli, Aphane, Gatebe, Mseleku, Zondi, Ndlela

SuperSport: Williams, Morton, Daniels, Farmer, Bhasera, Mokoena, Nel (Furman 77’), Modiba, Masango (Mnyamane 65’), Phala, Nkhatha (Brockie 46’)

This article was sourced from the PSL website.

Related posts


Nie Cele


Nie Cele

Bra Hugh Masekela

Nie Cele

Leave a Comment